How do I Complete a Georgia Title Assignment?
When the owner(s), as shown on the face of the title, sell or transfer the vehicle's
ownership, they must complete the first assignment of title located on the back
of the title. The seller(s)/transferor(s) should give the properly assigned title
to the purchaser(s)/transferee(s) at the time of sale or ownership transfer. The
following information should be entered in the applicable spaces in the title assignment:
- Purchaser(s)/transferee(s)' full legal name(s) and current address. A natural person's
full legal name would be his or her complete name as shown on his or her valid Georgia
driver's license or state-issued identification card.
- Date of sale or ownership transfer (Month, day, and year). Caution:
An altered purchase or transfer date results in a $10.00 title penalty being assessed.
Click here for more
information regarding corrections and title penalties.
- The vehicle's odometer reading at the time of sale or ownership transfer.
Please do not include tenths of a mile. The word "exempt" should
be entered instead of the odometer reading only when the vehicle is exempt from
the odometer disclosure requirements of the Federal Truth in Mileage Act. Click here for a list of exempt vehicles.
- Check the applicable box when the vehicle's odometer does not reflect the total
actual mileage the vehicle has traveled:
- The total actual miles the vehicle has travels is in excess of 99,999 on a five-digit
odometer or 999,999 miles on a six-digit odometer; or,.
- The vehicle's odometer does not reflect the total actual miles the vehicle has traveled.
Warning: odometer discrepancy., i.e. odometer broken, replaced, repaired or does
not reflect the total distance the vehicle has traveled.
- Print and sign his or her name. If jointly owned, each seller or transferor must
print and sign his or her own name. If the seller or transferor is a company, the
printed name of the company is required in addition to the printed name(s) and signature(s)
of the company's authorized agent. The company's authorized agent should enter his
or her position with the company (i.e. Owner, treasurer etc.) after his or her signature.
The purchaser(s)/transferee(s) should acknowledge the odometer declaration made
by the seller(s)/transferor(s) by printing and signing his or her name(s) in the
spaces provided. If jointly purchased, each purchaser/transferee must print and
sign his or her own name. If the purchaser/transferee is a company, the company's
printed name is required as well as the printed name and signature of the company's
authorized agent. If the vehicle is exempt from the odometer declaration requirements,
the purchaser(s) do not have to print and sign their name to this
document. The purchaser(s)/transferee(s) should not under any circumstance sign
a title assignment that has been left blank. See below for important information
regarding giving or accepting a title signed in blank.
When the vehicle requires a title and tag, the first retail purchaser(s)/transferee(s)
who are residents of this state must apply for a title and tag or tag transfer in
his or her name(s) immediately at his or her County Tax Commissioner's office. The
purchaser(s)/transferee(s) have thirty-days (30) from the purchase or transfer date
to either obtain a tag or to transfer their non-expired tag to the vehicle. When
the vehicle requires a title, the purchaser(s)/transferee(s) will be unable to obtain
a tag or tag transfer without already having a Georgia title issued in his or her
name(s) for the vehicle or without applying for a Georgia title at the time of registration.
It is recommended that the purchasers/transferee(s) apply for both a title and tag
at the same time at his or her County Tax Commissioner's office.
Important: When an odometer disclosure is required, the odometer reading
throughout the chain of ownership should increase in number. The word "exempt"
should only be entered when the vehicle is exempt from the odometer
disclosure requirements of the Federal Truth in Mileage Act. Only in rare occasions
(i.e. Classic vehicle towed instead of driven to auto shows, etc.) would the reading
not increase in number.
The owner(s) may in certain situations appoint someone as their attorney-in-fact
to complete the title assignment for them by completing and signing a power of attorney. Important: The purchaser(s)/transferee(s)
may not always be appointed as the seller(s)/transferor(s)' attorney-in-fact
when an odometer disclosure is required on a secure document. Click here for when a power of attorney can and cannot be
used. For vehicles requiring a Georgia title, the vehicle's ownership on the state's
records will not change until a new title is applied for and issued.
For vehicles requiring a Georgia title, all owners in the chain of ownership (except
licensed dealers) must obtain a title in his or her name(s) before
When a dealer is shown in a title assignment, they must complete the next available
title assignment or a secure Dealer Reassignment form when they sell the vehicle.
Click here for more information
regarding when a secure Dealer Reassignment form can and cannot be used.
Do not give or accept a title where the assignment has been signed without the purchaser(s)'
name being entered!
Section 40-3-91, paragraph (c) of the OCOGA states: "Any person, firm, or corporation
which delivers or accepts a certificate of title assigned in blank shall be guilty
of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not more than
$100.00 or imprisoned for a period not to exceed 30 days for the acceptance or delivery
of each certificate of title assigned in blank".